In the midnight air, amongst the bustle of sweaty bodies and the indistinguishable thudding against my eardrum.  Shallow, familiar words intertwined with doof doof and whirring noises.  Sticky, hot darkness mixed with cool breezes leading the way into the open spaces of outdoor chatter and huddles of incoherent faces mixed up in their own private stories of the night that we share.

I wish for arms around me, cradling me in the dense, sullen world.  When the night sky blankets the street, the alcohol spills and wooshes between the numbed senses of stumbling people and the noise becomes distant in its domination, I realise that I’m all alone.

It is in these moments of crowded loneliness that I have to ask, what more is there?

7 thoughts on “Midnight Melancholy

Leave a Reply

